• Big Game Sportfishing
  • Inshore Jigging & Popping
  • Offshore Saltwater Fishing
  • Deep Sea Fishing
  • Fly Fishing

Clients Comments

 "It's the little things that make the difference!”

Reviewed March 5, 2012.

I'm writing this review from my wife's account, because I don't usually do reviews and don't have an account. My experience at PBGFC was memorable enough to make me go ahead and help spread the word.

We arrived in Panama City at the International Airport and our 1st... class experience began there. I have travelled quite extensively, all over the states, central and south america, europe, etc. Never have I had such VIP service as I did when we arrived in Panama City. The PBGFC rep was there to meet us when we got off the plane. We were brought to a VIP lounge where we were served drinks, and had the chance to freshen up, check email, or read the paper while they took care of getting our passports stamped and gathering our luggage. No waiting in line, no hauling our gear. 1st class.

After making our way to the regional aiport and once again getting the VIP treatment we were off to David. In David we were once again greeted by a PBGFC representative, loaded into a very comfortable van and had a few beers on the short trip to the bay. After cruising across the bay in a small boat we reached one of the most beautiful lodges I have ever been to.

Our luggage was brought to our room while we were greeted by the staff, had our drink orders taken and were presented with huge plates of delicious ahi sashimi! The staff was incredibly attentive and friendly and were so throughout our entire trip.

After a wonderful dinner and few more drinks we were ready to hit the sack. We had a really nice room with a new 50+ inch flat screen "smart tv" that was loaded with shows, movies and most importantly awesome videos that previous clients had taken of their fishing adventures. We fell asleep watching action of huge 500+ lb Marlin and I for one had some wonderful dreams!

We were awoken the next morning to some excellent Panamanian Coffee and a great cooked to order breakfast. It was time to fish.

We made our way down to the boats, were introduced to our crew and were asked what we wanted to fish for and given a run down of what had been happening out on the water. Always nice to know what has been happening and even nicer to be asked what our goals were and what WE wanted to do.

I won't go into detail about every day on the water, but we fished two different boats with two different crews and both were outstanding. I am a boat owner myself, I have very extensive offshore fishing experience and have worked in the industry for many many years now. I can say that from the quality of gear, upkeep of boats, attitude of the crew and the hardworking nature of everyone involved, these guys are some of the best in the business.

Water temps were warmer than normal and the currents weren't ripping through the way we wanted, all in all, it was slow fishing by Panamanian standards. This of course meant that it was still better than any other place I have visited and fished. I've been on enough trips to know when the Captains and Mates are at their wits end, and they certainly were. They were ready for the fish to start biting, but we all know you can't make that happen. They pulled out everything they had in their bag of tricks and worked their tails off. When you get off a boat and don't catch what you expect, you can't complain if you see that your crew did everything in their power to get you the bites. I always set my expectations very high, you have to if you want to be successful right? It certainly doesn't mean the trip wasn't a huge success.

That being said, we still caught a ton of fish, some huge Sailfish, some huge Tuna, countless species of bottom fish in the Jack and Snapper family. We missed out on a Big Black or Big Blue Marlin, but that happens. I've caught enough of those personally, I just wanted to see some of the guys we were with try to tangle with a big fish and have to pass the rod off! Guess I'll just have to get back down there and do it again.

I have and will recommend Panama Big Game Fishing Club to anyone that will listen.

RedRumBrooke , Cabo San Lucas
Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

“Third trip to PBGFC”

This was my third trip to PBGFC and by far the best. The new swimming pool and upgraded rooms were a big plus this time. Nothing better than getting off the boat and jumping into a nice pool to cool down. The staff at the lodge was outstanding, the crew on the boat was great, these guys love to fish. We landed four or five nice sail fish, two nice yellowfin in the 130lb and 180lb range and lots of big red snapper. The food was again top shelf.

As an owner of a sportfishing company in Cabo I understand what clients are looking for and PBGFC now offers that with the new upgrades. As with any project there are still a few things in progress, but that did not take away from our great time.

We will be back for a fourth trip next year.

thanks again for a great time.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends

pj4806
san marcos, ca

I just experienced my first trip with Panama Big Game. I really didn't know what to expect. I highly recommend them to folks at all levels of experience. The accomodations were outstanding (I expected far less), the staff was extremely attentive (and entertaining), food was awesome, and of course, the fishing was World Class. Caught my first Black Marlin, and it made it worth the trip. These guys do it right!
Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Darrin A
Sorrento, Florida

My 4 friends and I recently returned from our first trip to Panama, and our stay at the Panama Big Game Fishing Club. Capt. Lee had made arrangements for our transfers to the club upon arrival at the airport in Panama City; and from the moment we exited the plane and met the club's representative, everything went as smooth as could be. The quality of the club exceeded our expectations! The accommodations, food, and service were outstanding....as were the captains and crew. Special thanks to Victor (great rum and coke) and Steve (I'm missing that 5:00am wake up coffee outside the door) for jobs well done. We spent 4 days on the water and had a blast catching Sailfish, Tuna & Snapper with the highlight being a 300# Black Marlin and 250# Yellowfin Tuna (I can cross that off my bucket list). We also happened to be there for Super Bowl weekend; and Capt. Lee put out an outstanding spread. In addition to the wonderful meals prepared by Capt. Lee each evening, he makes a great pizza. I'm looking forward to my next trip to Panama and another great stay at PBGFC. Thanks Capt. Lee and staff for a wonderful experience. Bernie
Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
bernie p
Dublin

“I'm All "Black and Blue" From This Place!”

Panama Big Game Club is Awesome and it's not even done yet. The food, accomodations and staff are first class and the fishing area is world class. Went with a group of 7 other friends and between 3 boats we caught 2 black marlin, 1 blue marlin and 6 sailfish as well as some dorado,huge snappers, tuna and jacks. We hooked up on over a dozen more billfish and lost them pulling hooks etc. I personally caught a 500Ib plus Black Marlin to add to a 350 lb blue marlin I caught in Cabo, hence the "Black and Blue", and I couldn't be happier. My hat is off to the new owner Mark C. for his commitment to make this a must go to destination. It is already world class and I know his goal is to be number 1 and I don't doubt at all he will get there. Can't wait to go back to see what"s been added since we were there in January.

Room Tip: There's no such thing as a bad room there. They are all like a 5 star hotel.
See more room tips

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends

Paul P
Foxboro, Massachusetts

I just completed my 5th trip to Big Game Panama fishing lodge. I bring with me business associates and friends each time, usually a group of 6. Everyone always have the same comments; Fishing is fantastic, and the food is better! Capt. Lee is very good with everyone and goes completely out of his way to make everyone comfortable. The crews are great as always, and now they have updated the boats which is nice.
Remodeling the cabins is good, and the swimming pool are very nice. I love this club and hope it doesn't grow too much to ruin the special thing they have.
Stayed January 2012, traveled on business

Gary Luebs
Cedar Park, Texas

Cindy and I I spent xmas 2011 at the Panama Big Game Fishing Lodge on the Pacific coast of Panama. From our arrival at Panama City airport to our departure we we looked after in great style by the PBGFL staff and agents. The newly finshed revovations to the property by new owner "Mr.C." puts PBGFL in a class of its own. A stunning location with views of the channel and distant volcanoes from the infinity pool and jaccuzi that are world class. Elegant and well appointed villas with big screen TV and internet access, coupled with great food and service in the clubhouse. The well equipped fishing boats are excellent and comfortable (the bean bags are a great idea) and the fishing crews experienced and friendly and the fishing was, well stupendous! Black and Blue Marlin were caught when we were there and we caught and released 130lb sailfish, 75lb rooster fish, 70lb+ cubera snapper and multiple dorado and other good eating fish prepared with great expertise by Capt. Lee. Thanks for all at PBGFL for making our christmas so memorable - we will be back. Jeff and Cindy.
Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple

Jeff H
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates

our trip to panama big game club was a tremendous success. we caught a mixed bag of fish. mahi mahi ;yellow fin tuna; mullet snapper ;cubera snapper 70# and my first sailfish.Wow !!! My wife carol caught the cubera snapper ,70 lbs. a true trophy. but for me ,the 125 lb. sailfish was a dream come true. carol and steve zientara., this is a truly first class operation .also special thanks to capt. lee campbell for meeting my wifes special needs. we will be back. to catch the 600 lb blue marlin that managed to escape . the cabanas are spotless and the food is the bomb!
Room Tip: we had cabana #4
stephen z
Rochester, New York

Just returned from a fishing trip at Panama Big Game Fishing Club. While extensive renovations are still in progress, this place is already first class and promises to get even better with ongoing upgrades in progress. The food & accommodations were both outstanding. Boats and equipment are being upgraded and the new owner seems totally committed to excellence.
Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
ThomasHunt0294
Foxboro, Massachusetts

Best fishing vacation I have ever had... Boats, captains & crews all outstanding. Then after a hard day fishing the food & atmosphere was great & the staff was always friendly & helpful. Capt Lee runs an excellent club.
Room Tip: Stayed in Tuna1.... all suites are excellent.
Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Edward G
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire

Big game panama meet and exceeded all my expectations as to what a first class trip should be. The food, lodging staff ,captain, crews and boats were top notch ------ not to mention catching fish of a life time,(600 lb Black for one) If you are looking for a great environment ,with fine foods and great fishing look no further. Thanks Lee for dilivering as advertised
Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
alaxkasteve
Port Charlotte, Florida

I went to Boca Brava for fishing and i found some the best in the world. I was there on dec 22nd and found the most stunning place on the island. It was the Panama Big Game Fishing Club. The new owner Mark has done a great job redoing the whole place. New renovated cabins with everything you will ever need. Great pool with bar. Food to die for and veiws are great from the tower. The fishing with his crews were the best you can want. Fishing was world class with a lot of fish. And to top off the fishing they now have cameras onboard recording your fishing. So when you go home you have a movie of the big one you got to share with freinds at home. Its well worth the trip to fish at Panama Big Game Fishing Club
Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
ken j
clandeboye mb. canada

I live near Bordeaux, France and have only fished salt water in the Gironde Estuary, my first love is fly fishing for trout, I have never travelled a great distance from France and so the invitation to fish at Panama Big Game Fishing Club was exciting but also daunting. I took my new saltwater fly fishing tackle, purchaesed especially! We arrived in the wet season and we had the misfortune to suffer the end of a Mexican Hurricane but it did not dampen our experience. I l;loved the ambience of this place and the standard of accommodation,and services were superb. The staff on and offshore are beyond comparison for professionalism and eagerness and have huge experience and humour and I felt always at home and among friends and mentors.
The fishing was exceptional and full of action, everything fought really hard and were plentiful inshore and offshore, every trip was awesome with much to see. We saw many Humpback Whales behaving in many ways, Turtles and birds of many species and struck up a passing relationship with the Howler Monkeys.
We caught many fish and although I filmed my fishing partner's Black Marlin, the weather stopped me catching one. I caught many other fish, Dorado, Jack, Snappers and so on - AND I caught fish on the fly. This is a magical place and I must return to see my new friends and broaden my experience of this fishing. Thank you to everybody it was fantastic!
Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptionally well fitted and clean and spacious. Fridges are stocked and entertainment centres all running with security in place.
Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Jean-Michel D
Bordeaux

Are you an expert fisherman? Do you enjoy fishing, but only fish a few times a year? Have you never been fishing but would like to try? Are you interested in enjoying tasty seafood, relaxation, good company and privacy? If you answered yes to any of these questions, you just might want to visit Panama Big Game Club.
I won a sweepstakes that was entered at a Bass Pro Shop. My prize....a 5 night, 4 day fishing trip to Panama Big Game Club. I am not an expert fisherman. In fact, I'm lucky to fish Bluegill once a year with my young kids. To be honest, I was going to pass on the prize. I am so glad I did not make that decision.
PBGC is located on a beautiful island. Mr. C and his wife, Karen, (the new owners) were friendly and down to earth. They made sure their guests were taken care of. They are doing a remodel on the club that is out of this world. Captain Lee is a great host and an even better cook. His salsa and fresh seafood are amazing. The crew for our fishing trips were wonderful. They did not laugh at us once for having no clue what we were doing! They knew exactly when to step in and help. While fishing we witnessed whales relaxing on the surface of the ocean, large pods of dolphins racing our boat and jumping the wake, and, of course, numerous monster fish. Definetly an experience I will never forget!
I highly recommend the Panama Big Game Club. I brought my wife as my "guest" and we both would love to return. If you should go, I promise, you will not be disappointed.
Room Tip: You get your own cabin and there isn't a bad choice.
Katie S
Illinois, United States

Yep, this the 14th time I have fished with PBGFC and never get tired of it. Boca Brava offers the best of both worlds - fishing on the inside (green water) for roosters, sierra, Jacks and the like or fishing on the outside (blue water) for mahi, wahoo, yellow-fin tuna and bill fish not to mention the bottom fishing opportunities for, cubera and mullet snapper, grouper, and too many more to mention.
Now here's the good part. The Club has a new owner who is willing to do what it takes to make things right. Not that it was not good to start with, but, now re-modeled to make it even better. Capt. Lee Campbell, the Club Manager and head chef knows how to run a resort operation.
If your are looking for a first class fishing resort - look no further.
Stayed November 2011, traveled solo

HawaiiSportsman
Honolulu

I arrived on Isala Boca Brava on 19th September this year after squeezing my diary to make the time – I’m glad that I did so. I was with my fishing friend Jean-Michel.
A very impressive arrangement there with at least 4 star accommodation and dining. It was a hugely pleasant surprise.
We fished all over and eased ourselves in with some hectic inshore action with Red and Yellow Snapper and a Sting Ray. Terrific fun on freelined or paternostered livebait and there were plenty of good fish, action all day and I was nearly spooled by something massive that we couldn't stop and so tightened to break. Lee says probably a Bull Shark.
We motored out for two days to Montoussa Island (48 miles out) and caught Red Mullet Snapper, Dorado Tuna, Rock Snapper, Jack and a 350 lb Black Marlin. Naturally the Marlin is the icing on the cake. It took just 10 minutes to land due to the superb skills of Antonio on the boat and Narciso on the fish. Those two are the best team I have ever seen and give me the fighting station over the chair any day. The fish swam off totally recovered.
The Marlin did not overshadow the other fish greatly because we caught many others and they all pull really hard.
Our last two days were spoiled, but not wrecked, by the tail end of the Mexican hurricane so we had to stay in sheltered water. We still caught fish.
The bar is a great place to be with views of the ocean on two aspects and forest and Howler Monkeys and Capt. Lee's cuisine skills should be tasted to be believed. The accommodation made us as comfortable as could be.
I just can't wait to go back in the Summer months! Thank you to all my new friends and to Mr. C, the owner.
Room Tip: All rooms are top quality and identical with 4 large single beds, large screen TV, DVD and CD player. Stocked bar (inclusive and two safes, a large wetroom and bathroom.
Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Brian Furzer
Bordeaux, France

I wanted to write a review because I was very impressed by the service & accommodations at Big Game Panama! I always have heard about the world class fishing in Panama & Big Game was recommended to me by an avid fisherman & Police Officer friend. I knew the place had to be very safe especially being recommended by a fellow officer.
Upon arrival to Big Game, I noticed that there was renovations being made. There was an infinity pool & jacuzzi still under construction & some of the cabins still being renovated. I was lead to my cabin which was completed. Wow, I was in the middle of the jungle but the cabin was easily 4 or 5 stars! Fishing was incredible. The boat was very well maintained & I was provided with top knotch fishing poles & equipment. My fishing guides were very knowledgeable & made it easy for me to catch "bonitas," for bait. I was lead out to the Las Lodrones islands where I was able to battle a Blk Marlin! This was the first time I ever battled a Marlin! Even though I lost the battle, the experience of fighting a marlin was one of the best fishing experiences in my life! Catching some snapper & yellow fin made up a little for my loss & Capt Lee & Fidel the chef made some excellent ceviche from those fish!
Again, Big Game is an amazing place. The Fishing is world class, accommodations, food & service five stars. I want to personally thank, Mr. C, Capt Lee & the Panamanian staff for a fishing experience of a lifetime. I will be back!!
Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends

Dodie
Los Angeles
California

 

We just finished our first trip to the Panama Big Game Fishing Club and cannot wait to return.  Upon arrival, we were off the ferry and onto our charter to begin fishing for tuna.  Within the first hour of fishing we had a 50 lb yellow fin in the boat.  Later in the day, we had action going on both the bow and stern. Ty pulled in a 200+ lb yellow fin, while Connor was fighting a big one on a 50 lb test spinning reel.  Connor’s fish was awesome to see come out of the water to hit a top water plug after two pops.  We returned to the lodge to get our first glance of what we had got ourselves into, and the cabanas did not disappoint.  Newly renovated with tile, A/C, a 46” Plasma TV with satellite, and a refrigerator for a nice cold one after a great day on the water.  Day two was just as exciting as the first, trolling for tuna initially but changing our game plan and getting into some snapper.  We had a red, mullet, and cubera snappers in the boat all in the matter of an hour…less the cubera, PBGFC lets these guys go due to overfishing.  Day three, we opted to try our hands at some inshore fishing.  By the end of the day, we had caught barracudas, a couple of dolphin, a Spanish mackerel, a blue jack(which Capt. Lee turned into a nice ceviche later), just to name a few.  On the final day, the mission was to catch a marlin and our crew did not disappoint.  With some luck and our skillful crew, we were hooked into a 400 lb black marlin 30 minutes into fishing.  It was the highlight of the trip for me.

Each night when we returned, Capt. Lee welcomed us with h’ordeuvres and something to drink, both of which were top notch and welcome.  Lee can cook with the best of ‘em and there was not a night we went to bed hungry.  Ahi tuna, sautéed snapper and mahi, only fishing trip I’ve been on where I gained weight.  We missed the brand new infinity pool being poured by just a week, so we are just going to have to come back to enjoy it.  The boat crew and house crew are great guys, they are there to take care of you.  Thanks to Capt. Lee and the whole crew.

Until next time,

Bryce, Ty, and Connor

 


 

Capt. Lee,
We had 4 great days on the water 3 off-shore and 1 near-shore. We caught fish everyday highlighted by a ~400 lb black marlin, several yellow fin tuna including a ~200 pounder, several large cubera snappers as well as some dolphin, barracuda, mullet snapper, yellow snapper, blue jack, Spanish mackerel, and many others. Our crew and captain were great, and Capt. Lee and the house crew prepared exceptional meals and gave us everything we needed. We plan on coming back to see the new facilities in the next year or so including the new pool which is coming along, and I plan on catching that elusive rooster fish.
Thanks Capt. Lee and the whole team.
Ty, Bryce, and Connor

 

 

 


Capt. Lee,
We had a great time, thanks again for everything. Ty has all the pictures on his computer and will have access to wireless internet tonight. He will upload a few pictures and a comment for the report.
Already looking forward to next time,
Bryce Moore, RPL


John Donovan, owner of the number one rated charter company in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, Red Rum Cabo http://www.redrumcabo.com/ returned to Panama Big Game lodge with his brother Jim, cousin Bill Brady and myself-his “Pitch” instructor, Mason Tenaglia. We had a very good week with four days of the yellow fin bite at its best. Live sardines, caught on the way out by mate Narcisso and good intelligence provided by Captain “Jamba’s network got them in the fish the whole time. “We got tired of catching 70 lb. tuna and went looking for marlin and the “giants” had a shot at a Blue Marlin, but lost it. A great time was had by all. Thanks, Mason (130lb tuna-top in the group).


Hi Lee,
This fishing trip was definitely the best fishing trip I have ever gone on. The fishing (two black marlin, 40 yellowfin up to 200 lbs) was excellent, the food was almost as good and the facilities were trrific. We can't wait to return next year with hopefully another group of four. Thanks for making it possible, Peter Harrison


What a great 4 days fishing at Panama Big Game Club! We'll be back to catch the marlin and enjoy the gourmet food! Thanks again Lee. Mike & Jim


Hey Pal,
Always a pleasure to be with you. I always look forward to our times together. It was a great trip and I know the guys really enjoyed themselves thanks to all your efforts. I leave Panama wanting to spend more and more time there. I am excited to have the family connection so close to your place. I certainly feel at home when I am down at the lodge and consider you a dear friend after all the good times over the years. Thanks again! Ian


Hi capt Lee, I want to convey my appreciation for a trip to remember. All of us had a marvelous adventure. I have been on 5 other trips to Caribbean fishing trips with Doc. He has been on many hundreds. He said he will be coming back shortly with another crew or 2. Thanks, E.J.


Hey Lee sent you a bunch of photos and the video of the big tuna. Hope they came thru I'm not to good at this computer stuff. If not I'll have Jake do it. We had a blast with you guys. Your hospitality was great. We are definitely coming back and I've been talking you up to all my friends. Mike Huston


Hello lee,
Thanks for three intensive days with nice fishing and excellent food and drinks. I think I got some added pounds to my body weight. It is a pity that your lodge is so far away from us, but we can absolutely recommend anyone to visit you for fishing. You will find some pictures of the BIG Amberjack. Best regards, Per Gunnar and Marianne


Captain Lee
We wanted to thank you for a great Fishing Experience on our recent trip to Big Game Panama. The four days of fishing was outstanding and the 12 Blue and Black Marlin (along with tuna, snapper, sails, and amberjack) that we caught far exceeded everyone’s expectations. Your crew on the boats and at the Lodge were very accommodating and professional. Lastly the food, unbelievable what you provided in freshness, variety and taste! I look forward to another great trip in the future. Best wishes, Gary Luebs and Group


Dear Lee
We managed to get straight through to London without a stop off in Miami so were pleased to see our 2 year old this morning. Thank you so very much for an outstanding 6 day fishing trip, it was amazing. Your team are a credit to you, food was fabulous and we take home not only life long memories but the photo's to prove not all fishermen lie about the big ones.... Getting blue marlin, black marlin and sailfish on day one was only beaten by having both 500lb blue and 400lb black marlin being brought in together on day two. Val's 220lb yellowfin tuna, all the snappers, needlefish and other fish were icing on the cake. We look forward to seeing you all soon and will send photos as soon as we get home. Kind regards, Laura and Johnny


Well the 3 Musketeers, Mitch, Mike and Myself took off again, tired of the February cold. We overnighted in Panama City and then took a shuttle flight over to the city of David. From there an hour boat ride through a jungle river landed us at Boca Chica and the Panama Big Game Club. Run by Lee Campbell, the club has been operational for 10 years. It is perched on a steep hill overlooking the river and features very nicely appointed cabins (air conditioned, hot water, small refrigerators) and a great club house/dining room (TV, internet access, treetop monkey watching). The Panama Sport Fishing Lodge is right across the river.

Wake up is at 5 AM and after breakfast you are in the boat by 6 AM. The fleet consisted of a 30' Bertram and a 30' Phoenix, old but serviceable, and they both provided good sun shade when needed. At the camp we were joined by Mike and Bob, so there was 5 of us fishing 2 boats and we were being catered to by the entire camp staff! It was a 42 mile run to Montosa and we were always the first ones out there, soon joined by the center console boats from the Panama Sport fishing Lodge, Pesca Panama, and Isla Secas Resort. We trolled live baits and plastics for three days, catching marlin and tuna, and then on the fourth day we targeted roosters and snappers around Isla Secas 19 miles away. Since there are no rivers near Isla Secas, there is no runoff and the waters are truly magic blue in color, some of the best I've seen in 35 years of foreign travel.

Tally for the Trip- 2 Boats
Day 1- 350 lb Black Marlin, 30 lb. Cubera Snapper, 10 lb Rainbow Runner, 40 lb Yellowfin tuna
Day 2 - 250 lb Blue Marlin
Day 3- 150 lb Black Marlin, 50 lb Yellowfin Tuna, 500 lb Black Marlin
Day 4- Spanish Mackeral, 100 lb Yellowfin Tuna


Saturday we returned to Panama City, had a great steak dinner at Gaucho's, and returned to the US on Sunday. Everyone agreed it was a great experience and we can't wait to plan the next one, maybe Panama maybe Galapagos again. Want to join us?? Regards, Rich Adler


Hi Lee:
Wanted to says "Thanks" for another great trip to Panama Big Game Club. My sons and nephew had a blast. I know the bill fish were a little picky, but I would rather cast topwater poppers to yellowfin tuna anyday. The boys got 14 the first day all on topwater. 2 in the 15lb range, but 12 in the 40 to 50lb.. 2 cubera's but 50 and 55lb..along with some nice amderjack on the bottom, I had forgotten how strong they are.. Got 2 big yellowfin on live bait. one 180lb and the other 200lb. Both of those were my sons largest fish ever. Hey, the river fishing was fun. Nice snappers, sharks, hope you show the picture of the eel, maybe not the frigate bird, although its got quite a story for his grandkids. PBG, never ceases to amaze me, for the quality of variety..You have the best captains in the game there. Definitely one of the top locations in the world for "Big Game." Will see you again very soon. Say "Hi" to all the gang there for me, and thank you for all the hospitality. Yours truely, Captain Mike Love


LEE, OH BUDDY, AS ALWAYS HAD A GREAT TIME WITH YOU AND YOUR STAFF AT PANAMA BIG GAME FISHING, GREAT WEATHER, GREAT FISHING ,GREAT FOOD [GAINED A FEW POUNDS] AND ABOVE ALL GREAT COMPANY AND SERVICE, GOT MORE GREAT MEMORIES OF PANAMA, LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR NEXT TRIP DOWN TO SEE YOU, I WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER HOOKING UP THAT 200 LB TUNA, SETTING THE HOOK AND HANDING IT OFF TO H. B. [ MIKE'S NEPHEW] AND WATCHING HIM WORK FOR AN HOUR, THE BATTLE WAS ON!!!!!!!! I'M KEEPING OUR 70TH BIRTHDAY TRIP ALIVE,,,,,,,YOUR PAL LYNN


Lee, I had a wonderful time during my visit to the Panama Big Game Fishing Club! Not only was the fishing great, but I was pleasantly surprised by the very comfortable accommodations, the great food and the attentive staff. I achieved my goal of catching my first Marlin (a 500 pounder!!!) and I'm told the 58 pound Cabrera Snapper was quite impressive by those who are more familiar with them than I. Over all we caught 10 different varieties of fish while enjoying the beautiful scenery, watching pods of Dolphins swim and Humpback Whales jump. What a special place. I've attached a few pictures that I thought you would enjoy and please tell all of the staff I say hello and thanks again!!!
Andrew Gagen


Capt. Lee, I want to thank you for an incredible fishing vacation at the Panama Big Game Fishing Club. Having fished most of my life and in numerous destinations, I can honestly say that the fishing there tops them all. In four days of fishing we raised 7 Black Marlin and we released four to 600 pounds. Every member of our group was able to take on and catch one of these beautiful and powerful giants (3 were first timer marlins)!!! The diversity of fish and quantities were beyond belief. We were able to catch Wahoo to 40 lbs, Yellow fin Tuna to 30 lbs, monster Mullet Snapper, Cubera Snapper, and giant Amberjack. Each drop of the bait was filled with anticipation to see what giant would come up from those deep blue waters. The boats were comfortable with top of the line gear for all type of fishing we could desire. The captain and mate were attentive to our needs and ready to accommodate any request to catch the different species available. On land things were just as great. Accommodations were comfortable with spacious cabins and a great club house for our post fishing cocktails and meals. Being in the restaurant business, I can really appreciate the meals we enjoyed. Enjoying our fresh fish catch at dinner was spectacular and every meal was made with the best local ingredients. We were all very impressed with every aspect of the Panama Big Game Fishing Club and My hats off to you and your staff. Look forward to seeing you again in March for some more great fishing. Regards, Joaquin Chamizo


Everything was great, and we are so thankful. The fishing was amazing, and the crew extremely knowledgeable. As a summary we caught, Junior records for Barracuda Pacific 21lbs, and Mullet Snapper 29lbs. Then in Saltwater Line Class: Barracuda Pacific in the 30 lbs, 8lbs, and 6lbs test; and Mullet Snapper in the 30lbs test (the same fish for Junior). Best regards, we'll be back sooner than later, Federico


Capt. Lee, It was a real joy to experience your beautiful world in Panama. I didn't know what a genuine 5 star fishing experience was until my first visit to PBGFC in August 2010...I can assure you your Yelp Austin recommendation is forthcoming in September, so I'll send you that link once it's done. Agradecidos, Craig

PS - the yellowfin sushimi w/ (the 'whatever it was' sauce) was outstanding, and so was the African Pompano caper creation. That was some crazy good cooking, and some crazy fresh food! THANK YOU!


Hello Capt. Lee, Thanks for your mail, this is fishing as we all know. You are a great host and we really felt at home. I will send you some nice pictures soon. Best regards. Wahib


Lee: Thanks again for another great trip- after six trips, the fishing keeps getting better. This year the two marlins, over 450lbs., many large Tuna over 100lb., three Bull Dorado's, and the Roosterfish Grande over 80 Lbs. as well as the smaller fish made for a exciting trip. We look forward to our return in February 2011. It will take that long to lose the weight we gained. See you soon, Dave, Dan, Kevin, David


Dear Lee, My son Garrett and I had such a great time on our fishing trip with Panama Big Game. The fishing could not have been better. The captain and the mate worked very hard to catch fish, and we caught a lot of fish. My largest was a yellow fin tuna at 150lbs and Garrett's was a yellow fin tuna at 250lbs. This was a trip we will never forget. Every part of our trip was great. The accommodations, the staff and the food were great. We enjoyed staying on a secluded island and listening to howler monkeys. I would highly recommend Panama Big Game to anyone wanting a quality fishing adventure in Panama. Sincerely, Paul


Hey Lee, My dad and I had a awesome time last Friday at your place. You guys definitely went out of your way to take good care of us! The food was awesome and the beer was extra cold! I can't wait to come back in January or February to play tug-o-war with a marlin or 2. I'm going to build a 7' 6"' - 8' rod that can handle 80lb spectra (not easy to come by) with a Stella 20,000. My goal in the next 10 or so years of my life is to try to get a 100 - 200lb tuna on a popper! I'm sure that lots of chunking and chumming should be able to get them into casting distance when they are around. Even a 50lber would be great! The mate and captain that we fished with were top notch!!!! Looking forward to our next trip to Panama Big Game. Feel free to give out my e mail as a reference to any of your new clients, THANKS AGAIN! You guys rock! Garrett


Hi Lee, Thanks for showing our group such a great time last week. The fishing was fabulous, the food gourmet and your staff was superb. We especially appreciate your changing the flights for us. Thanks Fred


Hi Lee, attached a few pix from the trip. Had a great time, enjoyed fishing with these two guys-good choice. Highlights of the trip were landing sails, a huge Mahi and the gourmet meals courtesy of Capt. Lee! Thanks, Steve


Lee, Hope business is still well. Had a great time and the fishing was amazing. You have a first class outfit and are a great cook. The trip couldnt have been more pleasurable and accommodating. Look forward to seeing you again. Brett


Lee, Sorry this has taken so long. The wife and I are thinking of coming back down in mid April. She doesn't fish so it will just be a driving recon tour. We will definitely be in your area if we come. I miss your daily fresh bread!!! Thanks, George


Lee, I wanted to thank you for the great time at the Big Game Fishing Club. I will definitely be looking to come back as soon as I can get some time off of work! I know that my father will most likely be down there a lot sooner. Also, I wanted to reach out to the group from North Carolina that was out when we were. I lost the guys business card and was wondering if you had his name and contact information email or whatever as we were looking to get in touch when we got back to the states. Best Regards, Alexander


Hi Capt. Lee, We sure enjoyed the trip and your hospitality. The food was excellent! I have attached a couple of photos of our fishing expedition! Regards, Roger


Good Morning Sunshine!
We made it back. I was sick all last week and didn’t get to all my emails till now. We had a blast! Can’t wait to come back down to see you. I will go through all the pictures later this week and get some over to you of the great fishing. We missed you the rest of the trip. We missed your awesome cooking. We are already looking at flights to come back. We may go through San José, Costa Rica then direct to David, pretty cheap actually. Well, tell the boys we said hello. I attached 2 pictures, the first one is what I left and the second one is what I came home to. It sucks! Hee! Talk at you soon. Your friend, Erin


Lee, We had a great time fishing with you and the crew. We're definitely coming back. Say Hi to Victor, Nica, Eddie and the rest of the gang. Here are some pics, I'll send some more and once Gail gets her iguana picture developed I'll send it to. Thanks for such a great time. Scott


Lee, Bill and I had a great time. The food was most excellent! I am enclosing some photos and will send some more, soon. Thanks, Thaddeus


My son and I had a great time fishing for three days at your lodge. The accommodations were great, food was good and the staff were very nice. We also enjoyed the other guest at the lodge. I will not forget the doctor sewing up his wife's head in the lodge as we sat around eating chips and drinking cold beverages??? As for the fishing, it is top notch. I have fished all over the world and there are not many places that you hook into two marlin and a salifish at once. We had six marlin on in one day and my son landed a 500lb black, wow. The "smaller" fish were great too. catching 30-40lb dorado and 40-50lb roosterfish will keep you busy and real tired at the end of the day. If I could change anything about our trip to biggamepanama is that I would have stayed longer. We will be back and yes for even a bigger marlin, they are out there. Thank you once again and stay in touch. Bill and Will


Hi Lee,
We wanted to let you know that we haven't stopped talking about our stay with you this past week. The fishing was great, your people were terrific, and you were a most gracious and attentive host. Compared to other fishing trips we've all experienced, this was at the top of the list. I will have our expert photographers send their exciting pictures directly to you. Again, thanks for everything and we look forward to returning possibly next September if our schedules permit. Regards to all, Larry


Thanks Lee for all fun we had fishing. The food was out of this world. I though I had gained a few pounds, but due to the great food I lost 5 pounds. The boat crew were the best I have ever had. Peter


Lee, Thanks – we had a great time, and nothing but praise for your crew. Charles


Jaguar sighting:
"On a fishing trip to the Panama Big Game Fishing Lodge-this is back in the jungle with no roads, only river access. Like a 4-Star boy scout camp for adults. Got up early to explore the surroundings and soon found myself eyeball to eyeball with a very large black cat! He was about 30 meters away when he suddenly turned and slinked walked away down a narrow trail; luckily I had my camera and whipped it up and got a hurried shot! Back at the lodge the boys accused me of knocking back Jack Daniels for breakfast! But I had proof-the owner had never seen a jaguar on the Island before. Steve


Hi Lee, My 9th trip to fish with you or was it the 10th ? Regardless, it was always great to visit with you and enjoy the great food and fishing venue available at PBGF. With me on this trip was Joe Kimura, manager of Five Oceans Seven Seas, who specializes in custom rods, outriggers and lures. For Joe it was his first time anywhere outside of Hawaiian waters and what a first time it proved to be.

After a four and a half hour fight on a huge black marlin the fish carried the day breaking off at the leader. I reckoned at the first jump the fish to be in the five hundred pound class, however, some photos I took of the fish just off the transom raised my estimate to seven hundred. Even accounting for water magnification the girth of the fish was spectacular. As Frank Mundus told me one time while fishing with him out of his home port of Montauk, NY on the old Cricket II, “when you lose a fish you have just lost a fish; when the fish loses he loses his life”.

Try as we did the 16# IGFA line test record for Mullet Snapper remains in tact. Chombo and Narciso did a great job getting me on the fish off of marlin under waterMontuosa. My best effort was an 18 pound taking 40 minutes to get it to the gaff. I know they are there, but, just not lucky enough this time. Strangely absent this year was the yellow-fin tuna school as I had wanted Joe to enjoy taking them on surface poppers. Well, that’s fishing. See you next year for another shot at the Mullet. Howard


Hi Lee,
Vance asked me to forward these pictures from our trip. I would like to thank you very much for the best fishing trip I have ever had and for the best time I've had in Panama so far. I'm trying to get my wife to provide me with the level of service provided by you and your crew but she keeps telling me that I am dreaming. Oh well. Thanks again, Dan


Hello Lee! It was great to spent our time in your place!!! Thank you for a really good fishing and a professional staff. Most fish we have ever caught on marlinany fishing trip. I will try to send you soon some good pictures soon. Sincerely, Yury


Hi Lee, Just wanted to let you know that Jack and I really enjoyed our trip with Ken, Stephanie, Riley and Donna and our visit to your resort. The food was great and Victor is such a sweet young man. He is a great young man to have serving people. Maybe we will see you again in the near future. Hope you have a wonderful summer season with lots of fisherman coming to the resort. Ken shared the pasta recipe with me. My grandsons will enjoy eating this dish. Thanks again, Becky


Hey Lee, thanks again for everything during thanksgiving, everybody had a really good time!! Here's a couple of pix, if we get more on the next trip I'll try to get some more to ya!! I've also got a Tiger joke I'll try to send to ya separate. Everybody's gettin a kick out of the xmas card ya sent!!! Thanks again, Marco


Hi Lee,
How I enjoyed our trip! You made it more special with my cake & champagne. My friends drool when I tell them of our tuna sashimi, fresh fish, homemade breads, frozen rum drinks waiting for us after a long day of fighting the big boys. Had the last 2 pieces of banana bread toasted with butter Tuesday morning. Yum! We were able to upgrade to business class which was so nice. Had a sandwich at the restaurant in the airport & all the servers had on masks...I think the flu issue is a bit overboard. So, my friend...we are slowly getting back to the grind but with a smile on our faces. We have stairs & every time we go down them we think of heading down to the boat! Life is good! Talk soon...Joyce


Hi Capt. Lee,
Mark and I just wanted to say thanks for the wonderful time fishing and the company while we were at Panama Big Game Fishing. You guys were the best at everything. The food was spectacular and the fishing too. I don't know of anywhere else you can have a Rooster and 2 Black Marlins hooked by noon ( 3 if you count the bigger one that threw the hook). The crew was tireless in making sure we caught that elusive Rooster fish my husband was after and if it weren't for their knowledge, persistence and hard work I would have never landed my 1st bill fish, a 300# plus Black Marlin. I just cant say enough about your lodge and all the staff. You also were an absolute pleasure to meet. We cant wait to get back over and see y'all again. Tell all the guys Howdy from Texas and I miss y'alls sweet smiles, awesome food, fantastic fishing and the weather ain't bad either. I hope you liked the pics, I know video would have been cool but you know us rednecks and video cameras...lol..haha. Until next time y'all take care and...live well, laugh often and love much. Brenda & Mark D.


Hi Lee,
Hats off to you and your staff at Panama Big Game Fishing Club. I must say that you run a first class operation from the moment we arrived in Panama City to the moment we left for home. he weather on our first day of fishing was kind of unseasonable, but we still managed to catch a sailfish and a black marlin. The next two days proved to be perfect conditions. I would say for 3 days fishing, taking a total of 3 Black Marlin, one estimated at over 500 lbs, 3 Sailfish, and numerous other snapper, etc. we had an excellent trip. I am planning our next trip in the very near future. We all decided that this needs to be an annual event. Again, Thanks to you, Rolando and staff, Tati, Jumbo, and Juan for all their hard work to make our experience a pleasurable one. Warmest Regards, Bill Hebebrand


Capt. Lee
Had a great time in panama you and your staff were just great. Here are some pictures of the marlin and tuna we caught. Can't wait to see you all again. Gary Hartshorn


Hi Lee,
Everyone had a great time, thanks for the great food. The fish got home with no problem, never got opened at any airport. I figured they would open it in Houston for sure. I will be in touch. Thanks so much, Gary Lueb


Lee,
As always, had a great time. Thanks. 6 black marlin - 3 over 400, yellowfin to 250lbs, steady dorado bite, sailfish, wahoo, rooster. Can't think of a better trip. Really appreciate the way you, the staff, the captain and mate looked after us. Booked already for next year. Panama big Game is a must on my fishing calendar. Keep well. Mike Callahan


Dear Lee,
We had a fantastic time down there, and couldn’t have been more satisfied with the fishing and the accommodations. I am going to try and get some pictures out to you tonight. At some point, I will need to bring my younger son down there as well. Madison and I have decided that we should count the third Black Marlin we hooked on our last day in our tally, as it actually was on for a while. Because it came out of the water two or three times before throwing the hook, once being a pretty phenomenal dance, we actually got all of the most wonderful part of a marlin catch without most of the work! Madison Ps-We miss your cooking!


Hi Capt. Lee,
Well, the trip was a pure pleasure!! Everyone is back into it here and in AZ but it wasn't easy. Our thanks to you and Rolando, Juan, Niki, Narcissio and Toddie (I am aware of bad name spelling!!) and all those who made our stay so enjoyable. Fishing or not, we had a great experience. You are a great host with great assistance. Food, beverage, fishing experience, and company --all so good. We will get some photos and film off to you in the near future. We look forward to seeing you again in our future journeys!! The t-shirts will bring great memories! Thanks. Lee, anytime you are lacking in e-mails, just give me a shout!!!!!! Best, Jackie


Captain Lee, We had such a great time and are missing all of you and the weather. It was 18 below zero when we returned. A really rude awakening. Being at the lodge and with all of you was like "living the dream". Great company, great fishing and wonderful food. I sure miss the evening margaritas!! Take Care, Sherry


Capt Lee, Geo, Don, and I will be consolidating pictures this weekend and I will e-mail you the ones that are of good quality. We are all working hard now to save up for next year’s visit. Keep the marlins and tuna around until we get back. Todd


Hello Lee-
I have fished many locations in the world buy none that I have felt so good at. The fishing was excellent, the attention from the Captain and Mate was the best and over all it was the prettiest area I have ever fished. The attention in the Clubhouse along with the food was also excellent. I will be back to fish with you again. Miguel Giacoman


Capt Lee,
We had a great time. Place, people, food and fishing; all top notch. I think Jim was the only one with a digital still camera. I may be able to pull a still from the video I took.
Thanks again, Fred Scali


Hi Lee
I can’t thank you enough for all that you and your crew does for us clients. Chong and I have been on many Safaris and have never had any better or come close to your package. I learned so much is such a short while and had fun fishing. I was so impressed with your people and the way you keep the place so clean, and the food was above and beyond. I hope to see you again next year. Aloha, Jack Parker


Cap lee, quiero hacerle saber mi agradecimiento por el trato recibido durante mi estadía en Panamá Big game con el grupo de clientes que he llevado.
la atención que han tenido para con nosotros ha sido excelente y ha superado ampliamente nuestras expectativas.
Todos los servicios que nos han dado fueron de un excelente profesionalismo y siempre con una calidad de atención para destacar.
La comida, siempre fue variada y digna de un chef internasional.
Quiero destacar el buen trato de todo el staff de Panamá Big Game Fishing, tanto de Rolando, Edilberto, El Cap tati, el marinero Narciso y por supuesto de Ud Señor Lee.
Tengo muchas expectativas para que en el 2009 podamos llevar a muchos mas pescadores a disfrutar de ese paraíso que Uds tienen allí.
Lamento mucho no tener un buen ingles, y no haber podido tener mejores diálogos con UD.
Le mando un fuerte abrazo a todos y espero volver a verlos pronto el año próximo.

PD: Rolando, creo haber olvidado un aparato pequeño que es para leer las memorias de las cámaras de fotos, si es así te pido que me lo hagas saber, para ver si de alguna manera lo puedo recuperar.

PD 2: Les envío algunas fotos para poner en su Web Site.

Mariano de la Rúa
Rapala Pro Staff
aquareef@infovia.com.ar
www.aquafish.com.ar


Hi Lee:
Thanks again for another great trip to Panama Big Game. My son, nephew, and I had a ball. We knew it was the off season, but the inshore fishing was fantastic. The 2 days we fished at the Secas, we caught 3 roosters to 50lb., and 22 dorado, but the smallest was 30lb, especially the 55lb bull my son caught on a top-water popper, plus a number of other ty